

Council

A meeting of the Council will be held at Franklin's Gardens, Weedon Road, Northampton, NN5 5BGon Road, Northampton, NN5 5BG on Thursday 20 May 2021 at 6.00 pm

Agenda

1.	Apologies for Absence
2.	Declarations of Interest West Northamptonshire Council takes seriously any breach of the Code of Conduct. Councillors need only declare an interest that had not been recorded in the Register of Interests. Any councillor who declares such an interest must remove themselves for the whole item. Councillors are asked to declare: The item number in which they have an interest; The nature of the interest, and; Whether it is a disclosable pecuniary interest or a non-statutory interest.
3.	Election of Chair of West Northamptonshire Council
4.	Election of Vice-Chair of West Northamptonshire Council
5.	Chair's Announcements
6.	Appointment of Leader of the Council
7.	Leader's Announcements
8.	Council Business Reports

9. Political Group Leadership, Committee Proportionality and Appointment of Members to Committees and other bodies (Pages 7 - 12)

Report of the Monitoring Officer

Purpose of Report

To seek the confirmation of Council of the Calendar of Meetings for 2021/2022.

Recommendations

1.1. To approve the Calendar of Meetings for 2021/22.

10. West Northamptonshire Council Constitution (Pages 13 - 26)

Report of the Monitoring Officer

Purpose of Report

The purpose of this report is to make amendments to the constitution to enable decisions to be made which are necessary for the delivery of services; and to identify the need for a further Constitutional review by the Democracy and Standards Committee to consider wider improvements to the Constitution.

Recommendations

The meeting is recommended:

- 1.1 The changes to the Constitution already made by the Monitoring Officer under her delegated power be noted.
- 1.2 The proposed changes to the Constitution set out in Appendix 1 be agreed.
- 1.3 Delegated power be granted to the Monitoring Officer to amend the Constitution to give effect to the agreements for joint arrangements with LGSS (Cambridgeshire, Bedford, Milton Keynes) Northampton Partnership Homes and North Northamptonshire Council.
- 1.4 The Member Officer Protocol be amended to refer to the Member Enquiry Service which has been put in place.
- 1.5 A further review of the Constitution be carried out by the Democracy and Standards Committee and referred to a future meeting of Council.

11. Ashton Neighbourhood Plan

Report of the Assistant Director – Growth, Climate and Regeneration

** Please note, that this report will be to follow **

12.	Urgent Business
13.	Political Group Leadership, Committee Proportionality and Appointment of Members to Committees and other bodies
	Report of the Monitoring Officer
	** Please note, that this report will be to follow **

Catherine Whitehead Proper Officer 12 May 2021

Councillor Ann Addison (Chair) Councillor Andre Gonzalez De Savage (Vice-

Chair)

Councillor Jamal Alwahabi Councillor Rufia Ashraf

Councillor Azizur Rahman Councillor Anthony S. Bagot-Webb

Councillor Fiona Baker Councillor Dermot Bambridge

Councillor Harry Barrett Councillor William Barter
Councillor Sally Beardsworth Councillor Phil Bignell

Councillor Lizzy Bowen

Councillor Adam Brown

Councillor Muna Cali

Councillor Pinder Chauhan

Councillor Councillor Nazim Choudary

Councillor Imran Ahmed Chowdhury BEM Councillor Paul Clark

Councillor Stephen Clarke Councillor Maggie Clubley
Councillor Fiona Cole Councillor Raymond Connolly

Councillor Karen Cooper
Councillor Julie Davenport
Councillor Paul Dyball
Councillor Terrie Eales
Councillor Penelope Flavell
Councillor Councillor Daniel Cribbin
Councillor Janice Duffy
Councillor Gareth Eales
Councillor Alison Eastwood
Councillor Penelope Flavell
Councillor Louisa Fowler

Councillor Rupert Frost Councillor Jo Gilford
Councillor Terry Gilford Councillor Matt Golby

Councillor Andrew Grant Councillor Mike Hallam

Councillor Enam Haque Councillor Lauryn Harrington-Carter

Councillor Jonathan Harris
Councillor Rosie Herring

Councillor James Hill

Councillor Keith Holland-Delamere

Councillor Rosie Humphreys

Councillor David James

Councillor Paul Joyce

Councillor Anna King

Councillor Phil Larratt

Councillor Malcolm Longley

Councillor Charles Manners

Councillor Ian McCord

Councillor Colin Morgan

Councillor Jonathan Nunn

Councillor Suresh Patel

Councillor Bob Purser

Councillor Emma Roberts

Councillor Sam Rumens

Councillor Lisa Samiotis

Councillor Sue Sharps

Councillor David Smith

Councillor Richard Solesbury-Timms

Councillor Danielle Stone

Councillor Nick Sturges-Alex

Councillor Mike Warren

Councillor Cheryl Hawes

Councillor Stephen Hibbert

Councillor Nigel Hinch

Councillor Mark Hughes

Councillor Cecile Irving-Swift

Councillor Koulla Jolley

Councillor Andrew Kilbride

Councillor Jamie Lane

Councillor Daniel Lister

Councillor Greg Lunn

Councillor Peter Matten

Councillor Dennis Meredith

Councillor Charles Morton

Councillor Kevin Parker

Councillor Ken Pritchard

Councillor Wendy Randall

Councillor Jake Roberts

Councillor Cathrine Russell

Councillor Brian Sargeant

Councillor John Shephard

Councillor Zoe Smith

Councillor Laura Stevenson

Councillor Winston Strachan

Councillor Walter Tarasiewicz

Apologies for Absence

Apologies for absence and the appointment of substitute Members should be notified to democraticservices@westnorthants.gov.uk prior to the start of the meeting.

Declarations of Interest

Members are asked to declare interests at item 2 on the agenda or if arriving after the start of the meeting, at the start of the relevant agenda item

Local Government and Finance Act 1992 – Budget Setting, Contracts & Supplementary Estimates

Members are reminded that any member who is two months in arrears with Council Tax must declare that fact and may speak but not vote on any decision which involves budget setting, extending or agreeing contracts or incurring expenditure not provided for in the agreed budget for a given year and could affect calculations on the level of Council Tax.

Evacuation Procedure

If a continuous fire alarm sounds you must evacuate the building via the nearest available fire exit. Members and visitors should proceed to the assembly area as directed by Democratic Services staff and await further instructions.

Access to Meetings

If you have any special requirements (such as a large print version of these papers or special access facilities) please contact the officer named below, giving as much notice as possible before the meeting.

Mobile Phones

Please ensure that any device is switched to silent operation or switched off.

Queries Regarding this Agenda

If you have any gueries about this agenda please contact Democratic Services via:

Email: democraticservices@westnorthants.gov.uk

Or by writing to:

West Northamptonshire Council One Angel Square Angel Street Northampton NN1 1ED